I got an email today from TrafficZ, the domain parking service I use for all those domains I hope to build one day, but may or may not ever get a chance to. The email was alerting TrafficZ users to a phishing email going around posing as TrafficZ. Here’s the meat:

 ”Several of our clients have received emails spoofing the email address of TrafficZ personnel.  The title of these emails usually read “TrafficZ | Domain Termination Notice”. The “notice” states that one of your domains has been deleted from your TrafficZ account and to visit Traffiz.com within 72 hours or your account will be blocked.  The sender is listed as ——— ——-, one of our Client Relations Specialist.  If you click on the link to visit the TraffiZ.com, you will be directed to TrofficZ.com, which bears close resemblance to TrafficZ.com.  This is a phishing attempt to try and capture the username and password of your TrafficZ account.”

I must admit, the TrofficZ website does look a hell of a lot like TrafficZ (exact copy really), and might easily confuse some, but of all the people to target with a phishing scam based on a similar domain, couldn’t they find more likely marks than a bunch of domainers?

Anyway, just struck me as mildly amusing and I had nothing else to write about.